1. there’s a stupid mosquito in the room and it just won’t LEAVE. it came in last night and i just saw it again -_-

2. interning/working is so…. LONG =( i feel like i won’t have time to do anything anymore… it’s kinda tiring too, and it was only my first day… i’ve been out since 7:15ishAM and now it’s about 10:30ish PM.. must be a record huh? specially since i ❤ hanging around the house so much…

3. but.. i finally have a cubicle! well kinda.. it’s one of those cubicle offices where u share with a person and you have like half a rectangle but it’s half open on the side (does that even make sense??).. but there’s no other person, so i have the whole area to myself (good and bad?)

4. went on a “shopping spree” today and bought a lot of more dressy/semiformalish clothes, since it’s not very nice to wear t-shirts and jeans to the office where everyone else is business casual at the least.

5. speaking of jeans… sunday was the first day in like 3 weeks that i even wore jeans (life in asia for me is VERY different from at home =P). and then i wore them again today, thinking they were more formal than my baggier long pants, but i guess jeans have that stereotype branded on, whereas long pants are seen as “more formal” no matter what (for the most part) — not that anyone called me out on it, but all the same…

6. interning today made me appreciate my dad a lot more… i guess its cause all the bigger bosses know who he is.. (“a senior engineer working over in america”) and my thinking was just… man how hard he must have worked to get to where he is now… i guess i always vaguely understood that, but not really… it was just “yeah yeah ok working hard, blah blah”.. but now that his name is kinda helping me out makes me that much more appreciative. not like people are fawning over me and serving me, but in a place where i know nobody at all, it’s helpful to know that some people have heard of me through my dad. or that some people know my dad.
apparently after the boss of the department i’m at met me, he sent my dad a txt msg to inform him that i’m at work and that he’ll put me under some people’s directions. and then someone else at human resources ran into my dad after helping me out today and then promised him she’d help me find transportation home, and then proceeded to sit me down to tell me what bus route i should take and everything =)


so today i went in at about 750ish — work starts at 730 but the boss person said i could be there between 730-830 (on the first day at least), proceeded to the 4th floor (took the stairs cuz i found them first..tho the elevators were right next to them…and i got really winded >.< but one month should build me some stamina…) and wandered around aimlessly looking for the “accounting” department. a lady (jasmine) walked out of the restroom, saw me looking and walking about, and politely asked “excuse me… are you the person who’s here for the attachment?” i agreed with most of her sentence and nodded and replied “yeah, i’m here for the internship?” and then she stared at me blankly and asked if i was there to see mr. david lee (the boss).. so i nodded and she smiled and showed me the way to the FINANCE department -_- no wonder i couldn’t find “accounting”.. they call it “finance”… either that or they group it all together.
then i was sent along to human resources back on the first floor to get the details straightened out… HR wasn’t even informed i was gonna be there. sigh. but the lady in charge of HR (the one who helped me with the buses) knew i was gonna be there i guess? and helped smooth the process…
after about an hour of logistics, i went upstairs, where i met the boss, the guy he handed me off to (accounting guy steven), and the girl i would help who helped him out (forgot her name)..the other guy who helped him was on NS duty or something and is going back tmrw. and then jasmine took me around and introduced me to places and people (tho..so many names and faces, i forgot them all >.< but it’s ok cuz they all have little place cards on their cubicle walls that i can look at)
my job? to unstaple all the tax invoices and group them into “general” and “debtor” copies, staple the “debtor” copies with the hard copy info that served as proof, and sort them according to year and number (general) or by company name (debtor). invoices from the past 3-4 years until now. sighhh. although.. it was boring at first, but now i’m trying to go as fast as i can, so it’s kinda fun to race against time =)
today the whole department ate lunch together because it was one person’s last day.. but other than that i’m kinda a loner as i don’t talk to anyone (surprise surprise).. lunch tmrw is gonna be fun =P
a lot of the people there don’t think i know/understand chinese, so they yell across the room in mandarin or speak in mandarin about me -_- but it’s nothing bad (at least, i haven’t heard anything bad)… i’m trying not to let on that i understand to see what else i can hear =)
oh and i think jasmine (first girl), since she’s the one who showed me around and everything, is the one who’s assigned to speak for the group… like they discuss something, then she comes to me, and in halting english, tells me what they were talking about (well today it was like “hey do you want to go to lunch?” and “hey it’s time to go”.. but not spoken like that..)
and i’m not making fun of her english, but it’s just not… english or singlish. rather, it’s like she has the thoughts in her head, thinks them through carefully, and then chooses what she believes are “proper” english words and language to inform me… it’s really strange.. but then i guess they don’t understand my “american” english (for some reason, i can’t bring myself to speak singlish to people around my age.. tho they’re prob like mid to late 20s/early 30s) and i don’t always understand their singlish…

names… i’m pretty sure there’s one person called “vermillion” or something that sounds like that–isn’t that a color? like a shade of red/orange?–… except when i was gonna talk to someone about her helping me, i was extremely close to calling her “vermicelli” -_- and then i realized that “vermicelli” was most definitely not her name because i would remember that distinctly…

and dang the day’s so tiring! today i woke up at 640ish, left the house at 715 (a little late =) and got home at 1020/30ish…
since i’ve resolved to take the bus to and from the office/shipyard from now on, i’m gonna wake up at 5something?, leave at 545/50ish to get to the bus stop at 6ish, and the bus should arrive at 605/610, although work starts at 730 -_- ugh buses. and then we clock out at 430, bus back leaves at 440/45, i arrive at the proper stop at 515/520ish… if i walk home (which i’m planning on), it’ll prob take me a bit longer to arrive home, but with a ride (car) i’d be home at about 525ish i’m guessing…

ok dead tired =(
gn.

oh yeah. $600 sing (conversion 1.4s = 1us) for the entire month (M-F, half Sa). i don’t think the money is worth it. so the experience better be….

