arrived in singapore a few hours ago… seems like the theme of this year’s airplane rides is “delay”.. not just for me, but for a lot of other people as well.. whether it be delayed by a few minutes, a few hours, or close to half a day even.. oh well


we tried taking a minivan from the airport, but it could only hold one check in bag… and then a normal taxi waved us over, and we ended up fitting all three check in bags in that trunk… course, we had to use the little hook thing and the trunk wasn’t completely closed, but at least we saved on the fare.. turns out the minivan was running on natural gas and not gasoline/petrol, so it couldn’t hold much…
the ferris wheel is completed =) we drove past it and could see the people inside..their sillhouettes (sp?) were pretty clear.. kinda freaky how close it seems to be to the highway…
i think today was the practice NDP,  cuz we saw two sets of helicopters holding two singapore flags.. wonder how the festivities will be… guess we’ll just have to watch it on tv (first year i’ll actually be here for singapore’s national day)


oh lemme insert an amusing anecdote here…
a few days ago (prob two or three), we were playing mahjong at my grandparents’ apartment (we did that quite regularly… every night after dinner + tv series and many afternoons when it was raining outside), and i won. my sister (working with my dad) was one tile away from winning – and her win would’ve been quite pretty… “siew sam yun”: three/three/two combo of the “hong zhong” “faat choi” and “baak ban” – and she was tired, so she immediately started crying and throwing a mini tantrum. my mom, grandma, dad, and i continued playing and ignored her outburst, and she walked over to the couch and continued just making a fuss. at one point, she was in some ridiculous pose, so i pointed her out to my mom, silently laughing. my mom, in turn, tried to point her out to my grandma, but as she was pointing, my sister turned and saw and got even madder. then my 4th uncle came out of his room and tried making her normal again, but before long, we heard [in cantonese] “eh? in the restroom?” so upon finishing the next game, my mom and dad rushed to the restroom to check up on my sister. a few minutes later, i strolled to the crowd as well, to find the restroom empty and my parents confused.
<whoops, i’m quite wordy (as usual haha)>
so my mom had rushed to the restroom, tried opening the door, and failed. she then knocked a few times, and then heard the sound of water. “oh no! what is she thinking, playing with the water -_-” flashed across her mind, before the doorknob began to turn… “oh good. at least she’s good enough to open the door for us when we knock.” my aunt looked out. “yes? how may i help you?” “…oh uh… neverminddd…..”
turns out my sister had completed her minitantrum and had gone with my uncle to see the turtles in his room haha
gj mom.


oh in other hk news, i failed in my endeavor to visit the park’n’shop daily, missing it by the last 2 or 3 days =
i managed to down like.. 5 ice cream cones during that week though =) yay for cheap stuff! btw i found flashlights! my high point of hk =) the non battery kind and the really bright/3tripleAs/china kind
also watched wanted on friday… it was… gory. dunno if it’s worth the money, but it’s not like i hated it that much.. buttt i went with my family + 2nd uncle + his wife, and all the adults agreed it was kinda a waste of money/bad show cuz it was too gory and had a lot of cussing… and i’m pretty sure my sister shouldn’t have watched it.. *shrug*


Kris(s)World on the SIA flights is amazing. people taking SIA flights should sleep a lot beforehand and then stay awake for the entire flight. there are TONS of movies to watch… a lot of new ones. a LOT. and there are foreign movies too. and then there are a LOT of tv shows (that i never got to) and a multitude of games (tetris!! and poker!!) and radio AND a cd collection from which to make your own playlists =) amazing. too bad it was only a 3ish hour flight, and i have continental on the way back (you don’t get to control the movie times = and selection is a lot smaller…)


 


start “interning” in two days…
bye bye hair on monday…

i miss my kids…and life there…

